Matilda Awards

Monday 20th Feb 2017

The Matilda Awards are a not-for-profit organisation that honour and celebrate the achievements of the Queensland theatre Industry.

2016 Matilda Award Recipients


Gold Matilda Award

Dead Puppet Society was awarded the Gold Matilda Award for 2016, celebrating their exceptional body of work.

Silver Matilda Awards

Best Mainstage Production

Bastard Territory, Queensland Theatre Company and JUTE Theatre Company
George’s Marvellous Medicine, shake & stir theatre co and QPAC
* Switzerland, Queensland Theatre Company
The Wider Earth, Queensland Theatre Company and Dead Puppet Society


Best Independent Production

Carrie: The Musical, Brisbane Powerhouse and Wax Lyrical Productions
Hanako, Brisbane Festival, Brisbane Powerhouse and Belloo Creative
True West, Brisbane Powerhouse, Troy Armstrong Management, Thomas Larkin and Annette Box
* Viral, Shock Therapy Productions


Best Musical or Cabaret

* Carrie: The Musical, Brisbane Powerhouse and Wax Lyrical Productions
Hairspray, Harvest Rain Theatre Company
Terror Australis, Brisbane Powerhouse and Leah Shelton
Snow White, La Boite, Opera Queensland and Brisbane Festival


Best New Australian Work

proudly supported by Brisbane City Council

* Bastard Territory, Stephen Carleton
St Mary’s in Exile, David Burton
The Wider Earth, David Morton
Viral, Sam Foster & Hayden Jones


Best Director

Caroline Dunphy, Motherland
Ian Lawson, Bastard Territory
* David Morton, The Wider Earth
Zoë Tuffin, Carrie: The Musical


Best Male Actor

* Matthew Backer, Switzerland
Sam Foster, Viral
Benhur Helwend, Bastard Territory
Thomas Larkin, True West


Best Supporting Male Actor

* Julian Curtis, True West
Jackson McGovern, American Buffalo
John McNeill, Endgame
Silvan Rus, Twelfth Night
Steven Tandy, Bastard Territory


Bille Brown Award for Best Emerging Artist

Masako Mizusawa, Hanako
Sophie Perkins, Carrie: The Musical
Paige Poulier, Twelfth Night
* Emily Weir, Tartuffe


Best Female Actor

Kerith Atkinson, A Slight Ache
* Andrea Moor, Switzerland
Sophie Perkins, Carrie: The Musical
Kimie Tsukakoshi, Hanako


Best Supporting Female Actor

Jennifer Flowers, Endgame
Libby Munro, Disgraced
Paige Poulier, Twelfth Night
* Emily Weir, Tartuffe


Best Set Design

Aaron Barton & David Morton, The Wider Earth
Georgina Greenhill, American Buffalo
* Leah Shelton, Terror Australis
Anthony Spinaze, Switzerland


Best Costume Design

* David Morton & Aaron Barton, The Wider Earth
Kris Bird, Bastard Territory
Karen Cochet, Snow White
Jessica Haack, Twelfth Night
Josh McIntosh, George’s Marvellous Medicine
Leah Shelton, Terror Australis


Best Lighting Design

* Jason Glenwright, Carrie: The Musical
Jason Glenwright, The Tragedy of King Richard III
Ben Hughes, Switzerland
David Walters, The Wider Earth


Best Sound Design / Composition

Dane Alexander, Hanako
* Tony Brumpton (Sound Design), Lior & Tony Buchen (Composition), The Wider Earth
Rob Pensalfini & Silvan Rus, Twelfth Night
Steve Toulmin, Switzerland


Best Audio Visual Design

Tiffany Atkin & John Grist, Hanako
* Justin Harrison (AV Design) & Anna Straker (Illustration), The Wider Earth
optikal bloc, Terror Australis
Nathan Sibthorpe, Viral




Congratulations to all recipients and nominees of the 2016 Matilda Awards!

And congratulations to all of the Queensland artists who continue to make theatre!!

We salute you.



Congratulations to all recipients of the 2016 Matilda Awards!


© Matilda Committee 2017

website by Misc. Media